Upcoming Events

10:00 am Monthly Chapter Meeting
Monthly Chapter Meeting
Jun 13 @ 10:00 am – 12:00 pm
Monthly Chapter Meeting @ St. Petersbug College, Gibbs Campus - Natural Science Building, SC 232
Welcome to the St. Petersburg Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. We meet on the second Saturday of each month from September through to June at the following location: ​St. Petersburg College, Gibbs[...]

Donate Now

PayPal Button

Chapter Officers

2018 - 2020

Dr. Shameka Jones

Gloria Flakes
First Vice President

Dr. Loretta Thompson
Second Vice President

Stephanie Godbee

Camille York
Financial Secretary

Meco Sparks
Assistant Treasurer

Micheria Ferrell
Kyana Jenkins

Assistant Financial Secretary

Teresa Evans
Recording Secretary

Chaye Mobley
Corresponding Secretary

Mary Floyd
Linda McKinney-Wilson


June K. Peterman

Nikki Gaskin-Capehart

Ruby Griffin
Immediate Past President

Contact Info

St. Petersburg
Alumnae Chapter

P.O. Box 11988
St. Petersburg, Florida 33733

Ph: 727.755.1913

Chapter History and Honors

CHAPTER HISTORYClick For Larger Photo

In the true tradition of our founders, the St. Petersburg Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. has worked diligently to implement Delta’s Five Point Program Thrust during the past 57 years.

February 19, 1961, served as a momentous day in St. Petersburg, Florida. Twenty dedicated women chartered the St. Petersburg Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Mrs. Cecile Edwards, the Southern Regional Director at that time, was present to take part in this joyous occasion.

The St. Petersburg Alumnae Chapter hold in high esteem those present when this chapter was established.  They are: Edith L. Alsup, Eula Williams Bennett, Thelma Watson Booher, Gloria Wartenberry Gant, Martha Ray Griffin, Jennie Young McAdams, Ada Duhart McCray, Helen V. McLean, Emma White Rembert, Essie Manuel Roberts, Jean C. Ramsey, Cinderella Sims, Altamese Gilbert Spearman, Annette Johnson Syrkett, Chrystelle White Stewart, Anna M. Polk Walker, Evie Adams Welch, Clarice Ferguson Werthy, C. Bette Davis-Wimbish, and Mary Harrell Clowers, our charter members.

Prior to chartering, many members served in the Gamma Mu Sigma Chapter (now the Tampa Alumnae Chapter), which was the only chapter in the Tampa Bay area and therefore provided a
beginning and home for many members in this area. Since its inception, the chapter has worked tirelessly for the St. Petersburg community and its citizens. The Golden Ball, held during the
early years of the chapter, was well attended by members of the community. This annual affair recognized outstanding black leaders. Additionally, the chapter held the Mr. Wonderful Pageant
from 1976 – 1986, and raised over $50,000 for organizations such as the United Negro College Fund and the St. Petersburg and Clearwater chapters of the NAACP.

The Prayer Breakfast was the major fundraiser for the chapter from 2000 to 2011, which has afforded the chapter an opportunity to make contributions to various organizations and most
importantly provide scholarships for high school graduates with aspirations of attending college.  The history to the St. Petersburg Alumnae Chapter is very rich. With involved in many programs
and activities under the sorority’s Five-Point Thrust Programs. We have served the community with Diabetes Sunday, Habitat for Humanity, Voter Registration Drives, Souls to the Pools, Dr.
Jeanne L. Noble Delta G.E.M.S. Institute and the Dr. Betty Shabazz Delta Academy, EMBODI, Scholarships, toutoring, hostesses for foreign exchange students, Arts and Letters productions,
the read America program, Alzheimer’s awareness, Jabberwock Pageant, Breakfast with Santa, Beautillion Militiare Alpha Class in 2016 & Beta Class 2018 along with various community
service projects.

It was with our exceptional leadership that we are able to provide valuable service to our community. Our dynamic past presidents include: Emma W. Rembert, C. Bette Wimbish, Evie
Jean Welch, Panchita Carwise, Clarice Pennington, Deloris Cooper, Peggy Peterman, Eula Bennett, Janice White, Dorothy Bryant, Armetha Williams, Juneartta Allen, Carolyn Swanson,
Sharon Snow, Thelma Nolan, Anita Lewis, Sheryll Norwood, Cheryl Johnson-Tindall, Sharon Wilson, Joan Harris, Dr. Cynthia Jolliff-Johnson and Tamaira Bailey-Heyward. Ruby Griffin is
currently serving as chapter president.

Alumnae Chapter Honors

The St. Petersburg Alumnae Chapter is proud to have members that have served our wonderful sorority on the Regional and National Level.  Those members include:

Soror C. Bette Wimbish – National Legal Advisor

Dr. Natalie T. J. Tindall – Past Southern Regional Representative and Co-Chair National International Research Task Force

Soror Eula Bennett – 2006 Southern Region Dear of the Year

Soror Rosalyn Connelly – Southern Regional award Dr Betty Shabazz Delta Academy

Soror Cheryl Johnson-Tindall, chair- Outstanding Service Award – 45th Southern Region Conference – International Awareness

Brooke E. Taylor – National Protocol and Tradition Committee